I am a nature-loving person

As a surfer, my love of nature is at the center of my life.

As a surfer, my love of nature is at the center of my life.

If you’ve read my book on climate change, then you know that the first piece of writing of mine to gather any attention was a letter I penned in fourth grade to the prime minister of Japan, begging his country to desist from whale hunting.

If you had managed to read every word I’ve written since then, you would come away with the inevitable and accurate impression that I love the planet I was born on, including and especially the oceans girdling it and the skies above it.

If you had watched me, somehow, throughout the course of my life, you would have to notice, as well, that it makes me happy to pick up trash, and that I rejoice when I witness environmental success stories, such as the marked ecological improvement of America’s waterways during the last two generations.

Thus, for those with minds disposed to contemplation and hearts disposed to compassion, you can imagine how painful it has been to be typed as a hateful, anti-environment tool of Big Oil or some other right-wing power.

I am no one’s tool.

I report on the scientists who have a different view on climate than James Hansen and Michael Mann, and there are far more such scientists than most people have any idea of — far more. I did not create skeptical climate science. I did not fabricate one iota of what I have reported on. And I have not been made a nature hater by reporting on it, either.

I feed birds, stare at the sky a lot, surf, and generally adore creation.

I love this Earth. And I’m going to love it forever.

About Harold Ambler

I am a lifelong environmentalist. I started my journalism career at The New Yorker, where I worked as a copy editor. Since then, my own work has appeared in The New York Daily News, The National Review Online, The Atlantic Wire, The Huffington Post, The Berkeley Daily Planet, The Providence Journal, Brown Alumni Monthly, The Narragansett Times, Rhode Island Monthly, and Providence Business News.
This entry was posted in Climate change, climate skeptic, Harold Ambler climate author, Harold Ambler environmentalist, nature lover, skeptical environmentalist and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am a nature-loving person

  1. Mike of SSG says:

    I love this Earth. And I’m going to love it forever.
    And me as well! Surf on brother !

  2. andyroofs says:

    Reblogged this on Folsom Roofer and commented:
    Harold Ambler says… “I report on the scientists who have a different view on climate than James Hansen and Michael Mann, and there are far more such scientists than most people have any idea of, and I draw lines between their findings. I did not create skeptical climate science. I did not fabricate one iota of what I have reported on. And I have not been made a nature hater by reporting on it, either.”

  3. John W. Garrett says:

    Bravo, Harold.

Comments are closed.