I’m On the Record

If and when Katla blows, whatever is scenic about the initial moments of the eruption will be swept away by the negative consequences on Earth’s climate.

If you know me well you know that as Don’t Sell Your Coat neared publication during late 2011 I was a nervous wreck. Why? Because I knew then, as I do now, that volcanically induced global cooling was a significant threat, I’d written about it in my book, and I wanted both the book sales and the simple sense of satisfaction of saying “I told you so.” To whom? To NASA.

Do I really believe that NASA doesn’t know that Earth is just one good-sized volcanic eruption away from destructive cooling? Of course not. NASA climatologists know this perfectly well, and have even published peer-reviewed papers about volcanic cooling in the temperature record. But such cooling was specifically not what NASA climatologists were warning the public about in the 1980s, 90s, 00s, and first part of this decade. Au contraire, NASA climatologists would have the public believe that the only thing to fear, climatologically speaking, is a warmer and warmer world.

This is wrong scientifically, and wrong historically. Humankind has prospered during warm times and struggled during cold times. You are here right now because the glacial conditions paused 12,000 years ago and homo sapiens developed in a way that could not have happened had the ice sheets remained in place. Looking at the last 1,000 years of history, it has been during the Medieval Warm Period and the last 150 years that humankind has prospered the most and during the Little Ice Age that famine, war, and plagues decimated population and were the “new normal” – as climatologists like to describe our time – of the era.

So, again, being pro-humanity as I am, I am also pro-warmth. Warm is good. Cold, not so much. (Even if the little boy in me will forever respond to snow as though it is something I especially need to survive.) And being pro-warmth, it was scary before the book was published to think that this opportunity for a non-scientist to stand up to the bullies at NASA and say, “Even though you’re smarter than I am and even though you possess education that I lack, people need to know the truth about the climate risks facing them.”

Such as (as those of you who’ve read my book know):

  1. Ocean cycles are aligned to generate cooling in the next 30 years.
  2. The Sun has quieted down and is meant to quiet down more, and this is likely to produce mild cooling as well.
  3. An Icelandic or Alaskan or Aleutian volcano spewing enough sulfur dioxide into the stratosphere to generate a shrouding of the planet from the Sun’s warmth is overdue and inevitable.

All of this is basically bad news. The only good news in sight is that the anti-science that is the global warming establishment will eventually come apart at the seams as its predictions are falsified to an even greater extent than they have been in the past decade and a half. Oh, and that little thing about book sales. It’s a hell of a way to make a living, and I wish were wrong and I hope I’m wrong. But I don’t think I am.

We may never know why NASA climatologists aren’t as concerned about cold as I am, and in the end it probably doesn’t matter. But knowing the truth? That matters. And now you, my readers, you know. Don’t Sell Your Coat.

About Harold Ambler

I am a lifelong environmentalist. I started my journalism career at The New Yorker, where I worked as a copy editor. Since then, my own work has appeared in The New York Daily News, The National Review Online, The Atlantic Wire, The Huffington Post, The Berkeley Daily Planet, The Providence Journal, Brown Alumni Monthly, The Narragansett Times, Rhode Island Monthly, and Providence Business News.
This entry was posted in Climate change, Katla, prediction of cold, volcano and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m On the Record

  1. Jared says:

    One more bad thing to add on to the list: Carnegie Institute wants to spray aerosols high into the atmosphere to block the sun. Just tells you, this idiotic Global Warming scam has really gotten out of hand!

Comments are closed.