The Strange World of Andy Revkin on Twitter

Andy Revkin seems to be uninterested in debating supposedly manmade climate change. Of course, the expense of constructing a second PA system like his might be part of the reason. Image from Revkin's Twitter page.

If you wanted to dream up a bizarre representation of AGW alarmists’ view of themselves as prophets, you couldn’t come up with anything stranger than what Andy Revkin came up with on his own. In the image on his Twitter page he is presented in true Orwellian fashion, larger than life, above the mere mortals on the ground below (who, by the way, appear to mostly be young ladies looking for a climate-change-cognizant rock star), but also non-present, virtual, canned, computerized (kind of like the science he espouses).

I recently challenged Revkin to a public debate, after he indicated that the greatest damage from Peter Gleick’s strange behavior was that it dampened the likelihood of a meaningful debate about how to respond to climate change. I said, since you view debate in such favorable terms, perhaps you would like to debate me? If not, why not?

Cue the crickets.

I also tweeted that Revkin’s throwing Gleick under the bus didn’t mean that Revkin didn’t have some explaining to do of his own regarding the overreaction to the simple fact that Heartland strives to get its view of climate change heard — yes, even in the nation’s classrooms. Allow me to say here, for the record, that I agree with the Heartland Institute’s views on climate change but that I am more than a little uncomfortable with its efforts to protect the tobacco industry. But smoking isn’t what we’re talking about here. We’re talking about a mild warming of the global mean temperature and supposed spin-off results of this, and why some members of the western intelligentsia should get to reconfigure the economies of the industrialized nations in response. The holier-than-thou-ism of Revkin and his cohorts is sometimes hard to take. For instance, he recently tweeted (deleted now, of course) that oil thirst was a major problem in the west while casually dropping a jet trip of his own to the West Coast and would his pro-AGW friend like to get together? This is a blind spot on a par with Al Gore’s, which I also tweeted about.

Cue the crickets again.

I’m not holding my breath on a response from Revkin. In the meantime, I hope to keep enjoying his Twitter page in its current form.

About Harold Ambler

I am a lifelong environmentalist. I started my journalism career at The New Yorker, where I worked as a copy editor. Since then, my own work has appeared in The New York Daily News, The National Review Online, The Atlantic Wire, The Huffington Post, The Berkeley Daily Planet, The Providence Journal, Brown Alumni Monthly, The Narragansett Times, Rhode Island Monthly, and Providence Business News.
This entry was posted in Climate change, crying wolf, don't sell your coat, global warming, media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Strange World of Andy Revkin on Twitter

  1. Joanie says:

    Hi Harold! You make some mighty good points in this post. I just want to point out that the italics/non italics in the formatting make the last few paragraphs less clear than they could be, as to whether you are quoting Revkin or speaking to him in your ‘voice’. Since I had seen the quote of his to Mosher before, I knew what you were saying, but you might want to non-italicize your own words.
    Enjoyed your book very much and I am giving a copy to each of my children. :-)
    Joanie in Carlsbad

    • Harold Ambler says:

      You were right. I think I was overambitious combining the two threads in one post. You’ll see that I’ve left the main part in, which was the examination of Revkin’s strange iconography. My response to Tobis is on his blog, for any who care to find it. Thanks for supporting the book!

  2. Dear Harold,
    Thanks for the above, “The drive of the Rockefellers and their allies is to create a one-world government …. all under their control…. Do I mean conspiracy? Yes I do. I am convinced there is such a plot, international in scope, generations old in planning, and incredibly evil in intent.” – Congressman Larry P. McDonald, 1976
    Keep up the good work

Comments are closed.